A striking coincidence

The China Syndrome (Columbia Pictures)

March 16 1979: “The China Syndrome” came out in theaters all over US. The movie revolves around a small team of journalists that happen to witness an accident while doing a report on a nuclear power plant. Although determined to get the word out with the help of the Shift Supervisor they soon meet strong resistance from the plant management who are trying to cover up the full extent of the event. It is mainly through this movie that many heard for the first time about the “China Syndrome”, a nuclear accident concept involving a total melting of the core followed by a fictitious trip through the Earth’s crust all the way down to the antipodes.1

March 28 1979 (less than 2 weeks afterward): Unit 2 in Three Mile Island Nuclear Power Plant, Pennsylvania, went through a serious accident that was completely tackled only a week later. The health and environmental effects were fortunately very limited if not non-existent, even though after opening the reactor vessel many years later it was discovered that the core had partially melted.

Dead Man's Letters (Lenfilm)

March 1986: Konstantin Lopushansky had just finished the shooting of “Dead Man’s Letters” (Pisma myortvogo cheloveka) in Soviet Union. This movie follows a group of humans barely surviving underground after a nuclear war set off by mistake, under a radioactivity-polluted land. Five weeks later, on April 26 1986, Unit 4 in the Chernobyl Nuclear Power Plant exploded and contaminated several thousands of km² of neighbouring land.

Aun – the beginning and the end of all things (Edgar Honetschläger)

January 29 2011: World Premiere of “AUN: The Beginning and the End of All Things” at the in International Film Festival Rotterdam. This Austrian-Japanese production focused on the tragic fate of a Japanese scientist looking for alternative energy sources, as well as his son seems to hold the key to protect mankind from self-destruction.2

March 11 2011: the Tohoku earthquake and subsequent tsunami wreaked havoc on 4 Units of the Fukushima Daiichi Nuclear Power Plant and thus triggered the worst nuclear disaster in Japan.

Wait a minute…

According to the current statistical consensus a 3-element sample is enough to draw conclusions with certainty (for example the results of this study are based on a difference of 3 cases). In light of the previous correlations it can then be established that nuclear disasters are caused not by engineering mistakes or natural events but by the film industry!



  1. Interestingly enough if we exclude Hawaii and Alaska US antipodes are actually not located in China but right in the middle of the Indian Ocean. The only dry land in this area is the French Southern and Antarctic Land (Kerguelen, Amsterdam and St. Paul islands). []
  2. I have to admit that I did not see this movie and that I didn’t even understand its synopsis, so please don’t be too upset if I took some liberties with the story. []
Tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Coïncidences troublantes

The China Syndrome (Columbia Pictures)

16 mars 1979 : « Le Syndrome Chinois » sort dans les cinémas américains. On y suit une équipe de journalistes en reportage dans une centrale nucléaire qui deviennent par hasard les témoins d’un incident aux conséquences potentiellement désastreuses. Alors qu’ils veulent révéler l’affaire avec l’aide du chef de quart ceux-ci se heurtent vite à la résistance des directeur et gérant de la centrale qui complotent pour garder l’évènement secret. C’est notamment à travers ce film que le public américain entend parler pour la première fois du « syndrome chinois », un accident nucléaire théorique au cours duquel le cœur pourrait fondre et de manière très imagée s’enfoncer dans la Terre et la traverser pour ressortir aux antipodes.1

28 mars 1979, soit moins de deux semaines plus tard : le réacteur numéro 2 de la centrale de Three Mile Island, en Pennsylvanie, subit un grave accident qui mettra une bonne semaine à être maîtrisé. Les conséquences sanitaires seront heureusement très limitées voire inexistantes, mais en ouvrant la cuve des années après on s’apercevra tout de même que le cœur avait partiellement fondu.

Dead Man's Letters (Lenfilm)

Mars 1986 : Konstantin Lopushansky finit le tournage de « Lettres d’un homme mort » (Pisma myortvogo cheloveka) en Union Soviétique. Ce film décrit la survie pénible d’humains dans des tunnels après une guerre nucléaire déclenchée par erreur, sous une terre polluée par la radioactivité. Cinq semaines plus tard, le 26 avril 1986, le réacteur 4 de la Centrale de Tchernobyl explose en contaminant plusieurs milliers de km².

Aun – the beginning and the end of all things (Edgar Honetschläger)

29 janvier 2011 : « AUN: The Beginning and the End of All Things » est présenté en première mondiale au Film Festival de Rotterdam. Ce film austro-japonais relate le destin tragique d’un scientifique japonais à la recherche d’une source d’énergie propre et inépuisable, ainsi que de son fils qui semble détenir la clé qui pourrait empêcher l’humanité de s’auto-détruire.2

11 mars 2011 : un séisme sur la côte Pacifique du Tohoku suivi d’un gigantesque tsunami inflige de graves dommages sur 4 des réacteurs de la centrale de Fukushima Daiichi et provoque ainsi une catastrophe nucléaire sans précédent au Japon.

Mais alors…

Selon les canons statistiques actuels un échantillon de 3 éléments permet d’établir une certitude (les conclusions de cette étude sont par exemple basées sur une différence de 3 cas). À la lumière des corrélations ci-dessus on peut donc conclure que les catastrophes nucléaires ne sont pas provoquées par des bêtes problèmes d’ingénierie ou d’évènements naturels mais bien par l’industrie du cinéma !



  1. Si on exclut Hawaï et l’Alaska les antipodes des États-Unis se situent en fait non en Chine mais en plein dans l’Océan Indien. Ironiquement les seules terres émergées qui se trouvent dans cette zone sont les Terres Australes et Antarctiques Françaises (îles Kerguelen, Amsterdam et Saint-Paul). []
  2. J’avoue humblement n’avoir pas vu le film et n’avoir rien compris non plus au synopsis, donc soyez indulgents si j’ai pris des libertés dans mon résumé. []
Avec mots-clefs .Lien pour marque-pages : permalien.

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

Vous pouvez utiliser ces balises et attributs HTML : <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>